On Reading Hunter X Hunter

image from Wikipedia

Hunter X Hunter, the shounen manga created by Tagashi Yoshihiro, is finally back after a long hiatus.  Last week, manga readers were finally treated to a new chapter of Gon, Killua, Kurapika and Leorio‘s adventures.

I have to admit that I was only familiar of Hunter X Hunter because of its anime version, which was definitely a joy to watch.  So, with the end of the anime, specifically with the Greed Island arc, I was happy to leave it at that.

Until my cousin asked me if I read the manga and if I found out who was the guy fishing at the end of the last episode.  Of course, I told him no, I didn’t read the manga and answered with confidence, “Gon’s dad”.  Which turned out to be wrong.  He informed me of two things: one, that the manga was still ongoing; and two, that the guy wasn’t Gin Freecs, but actually Kaito, Gin’s apprentice and the one who introduced Gon to the world of Hunters.

Let’s just say, I was a little pissed at the letdown.  Just a little.  But enough for me to be discouraged to read the manga.  At the time.

Kite/Kaito image from Wikia

In different occasions, the topic of Hunter X Hunter was brought up by friends who also like anime.  Curious, I always asked the questions my cousin befuddled me with before.  It turned out that none of them knew, and felt the same letdown that I did because of the twist.

Needless to say, had we not known of the twist, we would have happily lived with the idea that Gon finally met his father until the day we died.

So, when Manga Stream announced that a new chapter had finally come out and that a new anime series will be premiering in October, I decided it was time to read what really happened when Gon and Killua used the Accompany card from the Greed Island game.  I started with chapter 185 and have been reading until now.

So I am now in the chimera ant arc, which is immediately after the Greed Island arc.  I’m not sure though if I’m near the end since it’s been nearly a hundred chapters already since I started (I am currently at chapter 270).

While I am reading, I am reminded of one of the distinct differences of the series compared to other Weekly Shounen Jump magazine titles.  Aside from featuring characters younger than those on Naruto, Bleach, One Piece, etc., Hunter X Hunter had never shied away from characters killing off their enemies.  It had always been a given with Killua, who comes from an assassin family, and is considered to be the most likely successor despite being a middle child.  The same goes for Kurapika and his quest for revenge.  Yet, Gon, who is known to have led a fairly normal life prior to being a Hunter, had moments of resolve to kill.  With the other titles I mentioned, the end result, unless unavoidable, was just to defeat, sometimes ending with the redemption of the enemy.

chimera ant king image from Crunchyroll

I realize, though, that Hunter X Hunter, particularly in the chimera ant (very creepy, by the way) arc, showcases some pretty diabolical enemies.  They commit acts so unspeakable and without remorse, that there is very little room for the redemption that occurs in other shounen manga.  And when that redemption actually takes place, sometimes it’s not for the reasons that we would think.

The level of violence in the series is pretty high, with actual decapitations, tearing of limbs, murderous intent, and other such themes, despite featuring a main character who is barely thirteen.

Yet, somehow, when there are no battles to fight and during times of actual peace, Gon and Killua revert back to what they really are.  Children at play, who enjoy a great friendship with each other.

This particular element is probably the reason why Hunter X Hunter works so well.  That in a world so diverse and violent, people could still band together in friendship.  Friendship so profound that they would defy their own nature and selfish reasons to protect each other.  And it is not just the friendship between Gon and Killua, who have become constant companions.  The same goes for the friendship of the group that consists of Gon, Killua, Kurapika and Leorio. That while the last two have gone to pursue their own paths after the Phantom Lords arc, and should the day come for the four of them to gather again, everything will the same as it once was during their Hunter exam days.

With fantastical elements, really out-there characters (heroes and enemies alike), exciting battle sequences and great storylines, Hunter X Hunter makes for a great read.

Although, the chimera ants really do creep the hell out of me.

image from s2anime

So, should you choose to read the manga or watch the anime…

Happy reading!! or Happy viewing!!

Or better yet… Happy reading and viewing!! 🙂

Leave a comment